The Keep Chat History feature lets you control how long a chat’s message history is stored on your devices. It helps manage local storage and provides greater traceability of past conversations.
📌 This is an individual setting applied per chat and does not affect the message history of other members in the chat.
✅ The setting is synced across your mobile and desktop devices.
You can set one of the following retention periods:
After the selected time period, messages older than the set duration will be automatically removed from your device.
If you use any of the following message deletion features, they will override your Keep Chat History setting—even if it's set to Forever:
Note: When Keep Chat History and Disappearing Messages are both set, messages are deleted according to the shorter duration.
Was this helpful?